Plenary awards
Students who are selected to present their research during the plenary sessions, have a chance of winning one of the three plenary awards. The first prize consists of €1250,-, the second prize of €750,-, and the third prize of €250,-. You can spend this money on visiting biomedical congresses of your choice. All of these winners will also receive a one-year online subscription to Nature. The winners will be selected by a jury of renowned medical scientists and (bio)medical students.

Plenary presentation: Audience award
The winner of this award will be determined by the audience. The presenter most appreciated by the audience will receive a cheque of €150,- to spend on visiting a biomedical congress of his or her choice.

Plenary presentation: First Year Jury award
This is a special award, as the jury consists of first year (bio)medical students only. Despite not having much research experience, they will judge the plenary sessions open minded and with great care. The winner of this award will receive €150,- and a goodie bag from the journal Disease Models & Mechanisms.

Best Oral Abstract award
The best oral abstracts will be awarded with either an abstract award for the clinical sciences or the basic sciences. Our official jury will select two winners out of all different topics. Winners will receive a cheque of €150,- to spend on visiting a biomedical congress.

Session winners
In each poster and oral session the best presentation will be selected. All session winners will receive an official certificate.

World Health award
To stimulate and acknowledge students in the research of global health issues and their contribution to global health in general, the WHO supported World Health consists of a one-year online subscription to the Eastern Mediterranean Health Journal (EMHJ). This means that either the presenter comes from a developing country or the subject of the research affects developing countries.

Please note, all of the prizes which include money, should be claimed within a maximum of three years after this 28th edition of ISCOMS. The awards can only be spent on visiting (bio)medical congresses, and only the travel costs and the costs for the congress itself can be declared.

DISCOMS plenary award winners

2nd place

2nd place

Gerard Llibre Palomar
1st place

1st place

Pamela Capendale
3rd place

3rd place

Anurag Nasa